Leonardo da Vinci Artist Research

Leonardo da Vinci

Screen Shot 2017-12-29 at 18.03.17

On the 15th of April, 1452, Leonardo di ser Piero da Vinci was born. Now, the Italian Renaissance artist is much better known for his painting and sculpting. The polymath, ” a person of wide knowledge or learning”, is more commonly known as Leonardo da Vinci, or simply Leonardo. The portfolio of Leonardo contains a large array of artistic techniques, with his areas of interest including artworks consisting of not only painting and sculpting, but to showing a great focus towards architecture, science, music, mathematics, engineering, literature, anatomy, geology, astronomy, botany, writing, history, and cartography. Artworks produced by da Vinci include a number of geometrical sphere drawings. After having searched these artworks and growing more knowledgeable as to the ways in which he created these amazing three-dimensional forms, I have been able to gain much inspiration as to how I am able to apply the techniques of which da Vinci used within his own compositions. This will aid me to create the initial design of my logo, of which I will then apply to a digital application- in this case, Adobe Illustrator.

Previously, da Vinci has been variously called the father of palaeontology, ichnology, and architecture. This Renaissance artist is widely considered one of the greatest painters of all time. In the past, da Vinci has sometimes been credited with the inventions of the parachute, tank and helicopter. He epitomised the Renaissance humanist ideal.

Screen Shot 2017-12-29 at 17.59.42Screen Shot 2017-12-29 at 18.00.12Screen Shot 2017-12-29 at 18.00.28Screen Shot 2017-12-29 at 18.00.40Screen Shot 2017-12-29 at 18.00.54Screen Shot 2017-12-29 at 18.01.14

Da Vinci is an artist that I have always shown great interest in, due to the complexity and beautiful decorative way in which his artworks have been produced. Because of this, I naturally knew that this would be one of the artists in which I would look into. Initially, I decided to search very simply, ‘da Vinci spheres’. I wasn’t sure of the images of which my eyes would gaze upon s a result of my search, but to my surprise, I had been provided with a beautiful selection. really relating to my current project.

These designs are all very much able to influence the way that I choose to create the designs for my Christmas baubles, aiding me in creating a design that matches my chosen brief perfectly.

Since his death, many historians and scholars have regarded da Vinci as a “universal genius”, or, “Renaissance Man”. One of the main reasons that I am so greatly magnetised by both da Vinci and his artworks is due to the fact that he shows interest in so many artistic practices- he is in fact widely considered one of the most diversely talented humans ever to have lived.

Primarily, da Vinci was renowned primarily as a painter.Among his artworks is his most famous and parodied, Mona Lisa Smile, and also, the worlds most reproduced paintings of all time.

Leave a comment